linerkr.blogg.se

Sunny came home in popular culture
Sunny came home in popular culture








sunny came home in popular culture

This horrific scene to emphasise how she no longer believes what she is doing well I think it's that butĪlso "bring a sweater" is a very normal thing to do. Someone said a few comments ago that she brought a sweater because of theĬold she'd be standing in while the house burnt. "it" I believe is the fact that he didn't love her. It" supports the idea that it was a list of names of her husband's lovers Which is the final clue that she's lost it. Strike a match, go on and do it" is said in a kind of demented/dreamy voice The verse: "Get the kids and bring a sweater Maybeįinding out about his affairs is what finally makes her snap? Of the list of names being a list of her husbands girlfriends is right. There is also a hint at anger with "vengence" so maybe the idea Reached a point where she knows that the only one able to save and repair her She'd burned down the house? Then "repairs" says to me that she's finally I thought that maybe the list of names couldīe people who could help her/ she could take the kids and live with after I don't have my own ideas on this verse, but I think the The next verse is where I get the idea that she has finally had enough and This can be both a metaphorical escape from the beating andĪlso her mentally snapping and going 'out of her mind'. Next line supports this by saying: "I close my eyes and fly out of my mind Her husband because if she puts one foot out of place, she gets beaten. The line between sanity and insanity but also as her having to tip toe around The chorus says how she is "walking on a wire". but maybe it is the Bible with fighting fire with The book and the box of tools, at first I Song there is a slight ironic inflection on "favorite". "favorite room" is reference to being a housewife but if you listen to the Nothing is wrong (who claims she fell down the stairs or walked into a door) That image of the abused woman who always makes an effort to appear as though In this song however, there is a slight madness to Sunny - as if she hasįirstly her name is ironic "Sunny" being bring and happy. Was based on true events about an abused wife who eventually escaped theĬlutches of her husband by burning his bed (and their house) while he slept.

My interpretation was inspired by the movie "the burning bed" which I think So I guess it's a sign I should start contributing to the discussions It's actually come up three times in the past two days on searches I ran. The only thing we're sure of is she escaped, but not without destroying the thing that almost destroyed her.

sunny came home in popular culture

It may also be molestation, bad memories of a hometown, or huge guilt over something. Granted, I also acknowledge that the problem may not have been an abusive husband (though it's the most likely, given that the song indicates she has kids). The last line is positive: ("She's out there on her own and she's alright") It's about finally asserting yourself and leaving all the things that hurt you. One thing the song only hints about though, is if whether she killed anyone in the process or not.

sunny came home in popular culture

("Get the kids and bring a sweater, Dry is good and wind is better") She sets the house on fire, grabs her kids and runs away. Then one day after coming home from her latest stay at the hospital (for getting beaten up of course), she decides she's finally had enough. ("She says days go by I'm hypnotized, I'm walking on a wire, I close my eyes and fly out of my mind, Into the fire") On the outside everyone else just sees her as a meek non-person, but inside she's slowly going crazy. Religious perceptions that a woman is nothing without her man, parents worried more about looking bad to other people than their daughter's well-being, general red-neck chauvinism, etc. The problem might be compounded by small-town mentality as well. She's scared of him, yet she's more scared of how she (and her kids) will get by without him.

sunny came home in popular culture

Yet she hasn't left because it's the only world she knows. Here's how I see it: a mother in a small town getting beaten and probably raped regularly by her husband for years. The whole tone of the song is also filled with tension, unnerving, yet strangely cathartic. The song is undoubtedly about escaping from domestic abuse, it's not metaphorical.










Sunny came home in popular culture